Delete cookies when browser is closed or once the tab is closed to prevent tracking
What is Self-Destructing Cookies?
'Self-Destructing Cookies' is an Edge add-on designed to bolster privacy by eliminating cookies once a browser session or tab is closed. It offers 'session' and 'tabs' modes for cookie management per domain. This plug-in does not currently support the removal of 'window.localStorage'. It's a practical tool for users conscious about their online privacy and desiring to minimize tracking.
This extension supports two modes to deal with cookies:
- "session" mode: delete cookies once the current session is closed (all browser windows are closed).
- "tabs" mode: delete cookies related to the current tab once the tab is closed, and there are no other tabs of the same domain.
Example: Let's say you are logged-in into your email account: In "session" mode, you will be logged-in until all browser tabs are closed. In "tabs" mode, you will be logged-out once all email tabs are closed. So if you have two email tabs opened and still one tab is open, you are still logged-in. Once the other tab is closed, you will get logged-out
Note: the extension does not support cleaning "window.localStorage" at this moment. I will work on that later!
To report bugs please use the review section of the FAQs page
Self-Destructing Cookies may not be safe to use and it requires some risky permissions. Exercise caution when installing this add-on. Review carefully before installing.
Self-Destructing Cookies has earned a fairly good reputation and likely can be trusted.